Annual Awards

High School Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year

This award is give to an outstanding high school strength and conditioning coach in recognition for his or her achievements and work on behalf of high school coaches and the advancement of the strength and conditioning profession. A current CSCS and RSCC distinction is required.



Award Nominations closed March 16.

Nominations are accepted online between March 1-15 of each year for the High School Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year, William J. Kraemer Outstanding Sport Scientist, Sports Medicine/Rehabilitation Specialist, Personal Trainer, Nutritional Research, Educator of the Year and Terry J. Housh Young Investigator award. Voting will be online between May 1-15. These awards are presented at the July National Conference.

Nominations are accepted online between September 1-15 of each year for the Professional, College and College Assistant Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year Awards. Note: Nominees must hold the RSCC distinction. Voting will be online between November 1-15. These awards are presented at the January Coaches Conference.

Congratulations to our 2013 Winner, Mike Duehring, MS, CSCS, RSCC,*D, USAW! 


Past Award Recipients Include:

2012 - Gary E. Schofield Jr, CSCS,*D

2010 - Scott J. Sahli, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D, Northfield High School

2009 - Adam Beard, CSCS, Aspire Academy of Sport Excellence

2008 - Charles R. Wells, MS, CSCS,*D, Emporia High School

2007 - Kevin Vanderbush, MS, CSCS, Ben Davis High School

2006 - Ian Jeffreys, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT, Welsh Rugby Union

2005 - Patrick McHenry, MA, CSCS,*D, RSCC, Ponderosa High School

2004 - Bruce Harbach, CSCS,*D, Lancaster Catholic High School

2003 - Larry Meadors, PhD, CSCS,*D, NSCA-CPT,*D

2002 - Rosalin Hanna, CSCS,*D

2001 - Stephen Nunnink, Brainard Minnesota School District

2000 - Patrick Mediate, Greenwich High School

1999 - Bud Bjornaraa, Apple Valley High School

1998 - Robbie Robinson, Mesquite High School

1997 - Ron Thomson, Auburn High School

1996 - Mike Nitka, Muskego High School

1995 - Steve Kenyon, Del Campo High School

1994 - Edwin Jones, Eastern Senior High School

1993 - Dan Burk

1992 - Mike Burgener, Rancho Buena Vista High School

1991 - John Waters, Big Foot High School

Copyright (c) 1999-2012 National Strength and Conditioning Association. Use with permission. All rights reserved. 

Contact Us

1885 Bob Johnson Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80906

Hours: 8-5 pm

Phone Numbers

Toll-Free: (800) 815-6826 
Phone: (719) 632-6722
Fax: (719) 632-6367  


Get Directions 


National Headquarters

NSCA Board of Directors 


Additional email address: